Are you overpaying?
Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save
*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017
Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized
Cheap Car Insurance in New Orleans, Louisiana
Looking to know more about New Orleans and how you can get cheap car insurance? Well, New Orleans is a major metropolitan area in the state of Louisiana. The city of New Orleans was founded in 1718 by the Mississippi Company as a major port on its trade route. The city continues to be one of the largest ports in the U.S. because of its location along the Mississippi River. While the population of the city decreased by more than half following Hurricane Katrina in 2005, New Orleans has been steadily growing in recent years.
Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in New Orleans. Let us compare car insurance quotes for you now!
Driving Conditions in New Orleans
Transportation research firm TRIP found that drivers in New Orleans spend more money on vehicle maintenance than most people in the U.S. A study concluded that damage on roads forces drivers in the area to spend an average of $681 per year on maintenance costs.
Unique Laws in New Orleans
In Louisiana, you can be fined $500 if you tell a pizza deliverer to take a pizza to someone without their knowledge.
The Environmental Protection Agency reveals that Louisiana is part of a small group of states that do not allow people to smoke while driving or riding in a car in which a small child is also riding. The child must be young enough to require a car seat in order for the law to apply.
New Orleans Crime Statistics
According to the FBI, 2,517 vehicle thefts were reported in New Orleans in 2015. In addition, 15,243 property crimes were reported.
New Orleans Vehicle and Driving Safety Requirements
Information about the laws related to vehicles and driving in each state can be found at the website of the Governors Highway Safety Association.
Seat Belt Law
Under Louisiana law, all drivers and passengers must wear a seat belt or be in a properly installed child safety seat, according to the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission. For a first-time offender, the fine for not being properly belted or restrained is $50.
If a driver disobeys the state ban on texting or using social media while behind the wheel, he or she can be fined up to $500 for a first-time offense. The fine for a first-time violator under age 18 is $250. Drivers 18 and under are prohibited from taking on a cellphone while driving. School bus drivers and people who have been driving for less than a year are not permitted to use a cell phone at all in the state of Louisiana.
A motorcycle operator or passenger in Louisiana is required to wear a helmet.
Impaired Driving Law
For Louisiana drivers 21 and over, the limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent. For drivers under 21, it s 0.02 percent.
If you are pulled over for suspicion of DWI and refuse to take a BAC chemical test, your driver s license will be suspended for 365 days if it s a first offense. For a second offense, it s 730 days. After the suspension ends, you ll need to carry a costly S-22 insurance document for three years.
For a first DWI offense, your driver s license can be suspended for one year, and you can be sent to jail for up to six months and be fined up to $1,000. A second-time DWI offender faces loss of driving privileges for up to two years, a mandatory 48-hour jail and a fine up to $1,000. In addition, both first- and second-time offenders must have S-22 documentation for three years.